Basel, Switzerland (Pt. 2)

If you haven’t already read part one of my trip to Basel, click here before continuing!

The Three Country Bridge — no cars allowed

The weather was still chilly on my next day in Basel, but with the rain puddles dried up and sun peeking through the clouds, the day lended itself much more to exploring. I headed towards the three-country bridge. It’s an easy ride from the main railway station on tram 8. The tram takes passengers across the border into Germany, and with a stop right in front of the bridge, you can go from Switzerland to Germany to France in a matter of minutes. The towns along the immediate border crossing don’t necessarily have the same charm and life as Basel, the streets in the French town of Hunneburg were virtually empty, but still worth a quick visit. These are also great places to stock up on any snacks or groceries since they’re cheaper than most Swiss counterparts, and you can use the Euro which is quite convenient for visitors only spending a short time in Switzerland. I bought a package of quite possibly the most luscious dates I’ve ever had from a Turkish market in Germany for just over 1€.

Hello vegan tiramisu

After spending the morning exploring the French and German sides, I caught the number 8 tram back to Basel which let me off right in front of a vegan restaurant I had read about: Vegitat. I indulged in a quite large doner kebab wrap, loaded with veggies, seitan and two types of soy yogurt-based sauces. They even sold vegan tiramisu here. As someone who has been on the hunt for a veg version of the Italian classic for quite a while now, it was the perfect treat. Sure, probably more than one portion, but I figured I had been walking all day. The meal in total set me back about 15 CHF, still a pretty good deal for Switzerland, especially considering the big portions.

Rathaus — Basel’s Town Hall

I took some time to walk around the old town, where you’ll find the stunningly colorful town hall, the Romanesque Basel Cathedral and many other buildings with representing almost every era of architecture style. I quasi-followed one of the routes listed on a free walking tour guide, but if you want a more structured afternoon definitely download the itour Basel app where you can experience audio walkthroughs of different sites throughout Basel.

I stayed at the Basel Backpacker hostel, located about 10 minutes from the train station. It had everything I needed friendly staff, a cozy café style sitting space, and a playlist loaded with ABBA hits. As I typed away in the common room, it felt just like I was listening to my personal Spotify, but with less Cher. 

Images really don’t do this poor little quiche justice

My last dinner was at Acero Coffee Bar where I indulged in a vegan quiche. This candlelit vegetarian café has an elaborate selection of gelatos as well as several sorbets sans dairy. My server brought the eggless version of the French tart out and apologized that it looked “awful.” I reassured him not to worry and that I was sure it tasted delicious. And it certainly was. Crispy textures on a soft and flaky crust and a bold savory flavor. It’s a cash only establishment, and they will accept euros, but change will be given in swiss Francs. My server realized that I had accidently been charged extra for the quiche when I paid because I ordered at the counter and he did not realize I would be dining in rather than to-go and offered me a coffee for free. The warm and foamy soy latte was exactly what my body needed after a cold day of exploring Basel. And with the 3.50 CHF I got in change from this meal, I could buy an overpriced coffee the next day on my 6:30 a.m. flight. 

Returning to Barcelona after my weekend in Basel at first felt a little odd, the cultures and lifestyles of the two cities are vastly different. I’ll admit that I was a little hesitant about Basel after my first day there, but I quickly fell in love with its cleanliness, its restaurants, the adorable trams and the kindness of the locals. I was soon wishing I had more time to spend there. Nevertheless, Basel is still a perfect destination for a weekend trip, and even if you only have a short time, its comforts and charms will surely win you over.  

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started